Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

BMC_2013_00023

After reading this latest post by M.S. Simpson (follow him, every word he writes is worth reading!), I began writing my comments but it got way too long so I thought I’d share the gist of my thoughts on here instead. Here you go:

One : “It advised the reader to become and remain en pleine forme, which is Frenchie code for thin: exercise, eat right, practice proper hygiene…” Mark, you nailed this one.

Two : Two years ago while having lunch, one of my ex-coworkers asked me if I did any sport at all. He didn’t ask if I was interested in sports, or if I liked sports. He flat out asked me if I did any sport. Which, I’m guessing you’ve all probably deduced by now, was his way of saying I was getting fat.

Three : Also, I have honestly heard Frenchies say “French women never get fat.” Mhmm. I almost went ballistic on them.

Four : However, I do see the point of the article. Start from within and it will manifest itself on the outside. Part of doing that is to remain, or at least strive to be, en pleine forme. What is very very important to note (and what the article may have missed out, I’m only guessing?) though is to do this for yourself and not for anyone. Don’t go to the gym because you want to look good for others. Go to the gym because you want to look good, period. Exercise and eat healthy not to please others, but to please yourself whenever you look at the mirror and you see your reflection.

Someone asked me a few days ago why I like make-up and why I feel confident and comfortable enough to sometimes put make-up on even though I happen to be a guy (a gay guy, but a guy nonetheless). Her point was that I shouldn’t feel the need to do it because 1. I’m a guy and guys just don’t normally do it, and 2. I look okay enough anyway without make-up, so why bother.

Here’s why:

I have body issues. It’s an intrinsic part of being human. Everyone in this world has some part of themselves that they hate: their hands are too small, or their feet are too big, or their hair too straight or not curly enough, or their ears stick out… You get the point. And honestly, nothing anybody can say can change how I feel about my body.

Do you know that feeling whenever you look in a mirror and all you see are your imperfections? That’s what I see whenever I look into one.

What some people don’t understand, or at least my friend who asked me why I wore make-up from time to time, is that the right clothes, the right shoes, the right make-up — they all hide the flaws I think I have. Sometimes, I wear make-up to look better and to feel better. I don’t do this so that others will find me better-looking. I do this for myself and only myself. I put make-up on because it helps hide the imperfections that I see whenever I look into a mirror. It helps me look better to myself. This, in turn, is what makes me look and feel better to others.

🙂

