Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

BMC_2013_00026

I don’t think I’ll ever look at éclairs the same way again.

This afternoon, while I was busy playing around with the make-up testers at the make-up counter of my local Monoprix, a couple of friends of mine invited me to Café de Flore and then to Sephora right after, where we spent more than two hours just testing and trying out every make-up they had. We went to a MAC store nearby to play around with the make-up yet again, then walked to Bertie’s CupCakery to satisfy our cupcake cravings but the store was closed.

So I ended up bringing them to L’Éclair de Génie, an eclair heaven in the heart of the Marais district. After macarons and cupcakes, the classic eclair is now enjoying a mouthwatering and definitely deserved revival in Paris, a pastry that is made with pâte à choux filled with cream filling and a delectable icing on top.

BMC_2013_00025

What makes the eclairs at L’Éclair de Génie special is that Christophe Adam, the owner, has taken the eclair a step further and turned it from classic to modern, while still retaining its deliciousness. There are so many flavours to choose from. The glazing are all so smooth and and colourful that it honestly looks like the eclairs are pieces of art rather than dessert.

I obviously didn’t pass the chance to take pictures (I was glad that I could, considering how so many shops around this city don’t allow you to take pics). Each eclair was about 5€ to 6€, and it really tastes as good as it looks.

While they mainly sell eclairs, chocolate truffles are also being sold and a couple of Christophe Adam’s cookbooks are also on sale.

BMC_2013_00029

When you do visit Paris, make sure to add this little gem to your must-visit places. While I find the price to be a bit too expensive, the taste is absolutely divine.

L’Éclair de Génie is located at 14 rue Pavée in the 4è arrondissement. The store is open from 11h to 19h30.

